What makes a UI have that polished and crisp look, and how do I get that?

I’ve been browsing and playing some games with some awesome UI done in them. I’m a UI developer and I make average to advanced UI’s for people who hire me and myself of course.

Here is some of my GUI’s I have made - ImagineLeqtric - Builder Portfolio [For Hire]

Some games that have clean, and crisp UI in them are:

I’m wondering on plugins, other platforms, and tricks I could use to make cleaner looking GUI in games. Thank you for reading.

1 Like

Most people use adobe illustrator, it allows you to draw in vector, rather than raster, meaning that no matter how much you zoom in, it will always look crisp, the other option is to just do it in a normal drawing program, but set the resolution to around 300+ pixels per inch and make the canvas pretty big :slight_smile:

2 Likes

I’m a very UI-savvy person and I focus on the most intricate of details when it comes to UI, so here:

Consistency

Your UI should have a theme and should look consistent throughout your game. For example, if you use rounded-corners here, then you need to use it almost everywhere else to make it look like it’s part of one game. However, do not make it monotone. You can change up the colors, positions, and layouts ever so slightly to make them have variation.

Satisfying UI Animations

This includes anything from hover effects to your shop UI opening. Make them seem specialized in their way while preserving consistency. For example, for a button that gives you rewards for the round, you can have a stash of coins spread out slightly when hovered over and put back when the hovering stops. Another thing for acquiring mass number items such as 50 coins, you can make several coins move from the button to the coin display in the corner to give the user a sense of satisfaction. Also, make sure you don’t use linear animations too often because they look quite boring. Quick, asymmetric, and irregular animations are key.

Audio