What makes good combat?

I’ve been making a combat system for a game I’m working on. I’ve added parrying and dodging, but something still doesn’t feel right. The combat is stun heavy, so landing a hit locks you into a combo of 5 m1s.

EXAMPLE:

Although this works, it doesn’t feel very challenging. I watched a video about good combat, and all I got from it is that you should make parrying satisfying.

PARRYING:

The parrying came out alright, but mainly I need help and feedback on the attacking. I don’t want this game to be another one of those terrible bandits beaters. I would like to make the combat fun and challenging while still keeping it fairly simple.

Any feedback would be appreciated. If you’ve made a combat system before, and you’d like to share what you did, please do. This is my first time so I need help, thanks.

4 Likes

So to start off, a good combat system needs a good system? What I mean is, it needs to be really polished and well rounded.

Here in your first example you show a player getting struck in a in a combo move where the enemy is struck 5 times. I’m not sure what your health system is like, as in, how much damage you take per hit but -
lets say for every 5 hits is half the players health. If this is the case, which in yours it does not seem like, but never the less if it were the case you would want to up the health to combat the amount of damage you are taking per hit.

Now,
Some good things I look for in a combat system are;

• Parrying/Blocking (which you have)
  • Combo moves (which you have)
  • Rolling or sliding
  • Jumping combo moves (or a double jump I guess)
  • Rolling or sliding
    I believe this is a pretty important one because it allows the player to have more movement. Sure, you have your parrying and blocking, but rolling or sliding could allow the player to parry an attack just in a different way.
    (ex. player is about to be hit, player rolls or slides away quickly)
  • Jumping combo moves (or a double jump I guess)