What's the most efficient way to code a combat system

Hey guys, I’m Ehcode. I’m an aspiring solo developer and my goal is to become a jack of all trades on this amazing platform.Between late 2017 till now, I’ve been learning how to code but I’ve realized that my code usually lacks efficiency and that there is always a better way to things.I finally decided to work on my own game but I’m having a hard time deciding on what’s the most efficient way to code my combat system. here’s a short summary of how my system works:

--local script

local mouse = Player:GetMouse()
local CombatRemote = game.ReplicatedStorage.CombatRemote

mouse.MouseButton1Down:Connect(function()
CombatRemote:FireServer()
end)
 --Server script

local combatRemote = game.ReplicatedStorage.CombatRemote

combatRemote.OnServerEvent:Connect(function(Player)
 local Char = Player.Character
 local Humanoid = Char.Humanoid
 local DamageScript = script.DamageScript

local Anim1 = Humanoid:LoadAnimation(script.Anim1)
 local Anim2 = Humanoid:LoadAnimation(script.Anim2)
 local Anim3 = Humanoid:LoadAnimation(script.Anim3)

local Anims = {Anim1, Anime2, Anim3}
 --here I would then randomize the animation and load Animations[1] into the character

Anims[1]:Play()
 if Anims[1] == Anims1 then
 local clone = DamageScript:Clone()
 clone.Parent = BodyPart1
 game.Debris:AddItem(clone)

elseif Anims[1] == Anims2 then
 --same as above but different body part
 elseif Anims[1] == Anims3 then
 --same as above but different body part
 end
 end)
``
Tips on how I can make a better/more efficient system are appreciated!
Sorry for the rushed post :(
9 Likes

Few things I’d change is:

• You are loading the animations and then getting random one. The better way would be to get random id and then load it in.

• You seem to use a lot of if statements, you should probably organize your code in a better way so it’s easily expandable, for your case, something like this:

local asd = {
  Animation1 = {
    id = 123456789,