Where do I safely put variables?

Where should I safely store my variables?
I’m relatively new to scripting and I just store my variables in local scripts, but I read that it isn’t safe to store them there as exploiters can change them.

I’ve thought about storing them in ServerScriptService/ServerStorage, but some variables are player specific (like ability cooldowns for example) and I’m not sure if those should be put there(or how to).

1 Like

Honestly, I wouldn’t worry about it, especially if you’re new to scripting. Exploiters can change anything on the client and inject their own code - just focus on making the server-client interactions secure with your RemoteEvents and that’ll solve a lot of exploit problems.

2 Likes

There will always be ways to somehow access the client. You won’t have to worry about this too much if you use the Server (access between the two with RemoteEvents) for important things like currency.

Here are two examples of short algorithms to show what I mean with this example:

Bad

Click button
Check if player has enough of their currency for purchase
Fire event to server for transaction

Good

Click button
Fire event to server to check if player has enough of their currency, and handle transaction

It’s a little more work, but this is much safe as an exploiter can change their currency on the client, and that will have it fire the event and proceed with the transaction.

Hope this helps! :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

2 Likes

I think you’re trying to describe values, instead of variables. I put mine in ReplicatedStorage, but I myself is not really sure what would be the best choice.

2 Likes

ReplicatedStorage replicates its children objects to both the client and the server.
ServerStorage only replicates its children to the server. It is practically inaccessible to the client. (same goes for ServerScriptService)