Which takes up more space to save?

Hey everyone! I am going to use DataStores to save strings but I was wondering about turning the string into numbers so that it’s more compact, and can save more. Creating UID is tedious for me and takes up a lot of time, I’d prefer to save by string. Here’s an example
‘Test Item’

I was wondering if this is more efficient than turning it into numbers, ie t = 1, e = 2, etc.

If I was to turn it into numbers, I’d need something to separate it with, so I know how to unscramble the code (i.e 1a2 = te)

I’m not an expert on saving by string size, so which would is better. Imagine each string is roughly 7-25 characters.

I’m wondering this because I feel as though numbers are less bytes than strings or someting, I have little to no knowledge in this field.

1 Like

Each digit in a number can have 10 values, 0123456789.
Each character in a string can have 256 possible values I think.

This means strings take up more space in datastores. You shouldn’t have any problem storing the raw values either way, as the roblox datastores are pretty large. What are these UID’s for?

2 Likes

could this be of use to you for turning strings into numbers?

https://developer.roblox.com/articles/Built-in-Functions-and-Variables/Lua#tonumber

I need to save the UIDs as its the name of the item. Is prefer not to just do 1,2,3 for every single item as when it’s another item its another ~5 seconds, which adds up for 2500 items. 2500*15 (roughly the average string length) * 1(however much space 1 string takes up, idk this) is a lot. especially if that multiplier is higher.

what letter should I use to separate each number?

I don’t think that’d work. I’d just make a custom function. I can do all this, just need to know if I should.

Why are you saving items? Is this part of an inventory system? Does every item need to be saved to a different key or could you put many items in one?