Why are model teleports replicating on server If it's been done on the client side?

To prevent exploits such as autofarming, I recently tried to autofarm on my own game using studio’s command bar. Basically what I’m doing is teleporting an NPC to me and then killing it. However, when I teleport the NPC to me on the client and I check the server, I see the NPC being repeatedly teleported to me. Why does teleporting a model replicate to the server from the client?

https://gyazo.com/fc2445bab9556107bbbad342d021350e

I have a feeling that It’s the script inside the NPC that is used to find the player’s humanoid and move to it however can someone tell me how I can fix that? I’m new to this. Thank you.

EDIT: I have tried deleting the script inside NPC and it still replicates to the server. I do’n’t know what I’m doing wrong?

2 Likes

i believe it’s because your player gains network ownership of the npc. that means the player can calculate certain physics for the npc when the player is close enough to the npc. this applies to other things that use physics in your game.

teleporting npc is one of the things players can do when they have network ownership. another thing they can do is break all the joints of the npc, killing it, which will be replicated to the server.

obviously you don’t want this. to fix, set the network owner of your npc’s to the server. you can do this by getting the HumanoidRootPart of your npcs and doing HumanoidRootPart:SetNetworkOwner(nil). this only works on unanchored npcs.

2 Likes

I fixed it by looping HumanoidRootPart:SetNetworkOwner(nil) and it works fine.
Thank you so much!

2 Likes

Do I also have to set network owner of all the parts connected to the NPC? ( Such as tools ) Or is it even possible to set it to the NPC? Sometimes when I do it, after awhile, they still teleport to me.

Edit: I set all the parts of the NPC to nil and it works, however when the npc is moving towards me, it’s acting weirdly… movement’s don’t seem… normal?