Will ROBLOX SurfaceAppearance be used to make GFX?

Discussion

I’ve been wondering, as a graphic designer myself, using Blender 2.83, will other, younger people, be able to use ROBLOX Studio as an alternative with its recent updates? You’re able to create more realistic results, with enhanced lighting and better shadows.

Can someone with a better experience with SurfaceAppearance and ‘Future’ lighting system answer this question?

Will ROBLOX’s update make GFX easier?

Due to the recent updates, the SurfaceAppearance update looks amazingly realistic, and good! With this update will people be able to ditch downloading software, such as Blender and C4D? And how will it effect the larger graphic designers, that make all of their money and robux from GFX?

(Taken from SurfaceAppearance Studio Beta [Released])

How can younger starter designers use this to their advantage?

Some people do not have large CPU’s and GPU’s, which can effect what they can have on their PC. I myself have tried to download rigs and HDRI’s and then they did not work. Blender can also sometimes crash, because it is a larger software. ROBLOX Studio, on the other hand, is improving every day, and it is a relatively small file, (pardon me if I’m wrong).

Can younger developers and designers use ROBLOX Studio’s updates to create a better result with the new technology and enhanced software?

Please let me know how you feel in the comments, and if you have any corrections please tell me :confused:

5 Likes

I don’t think the render will be as powerful as Blender or C4d.

4 Likes

God I hope not. Sure as a stepping stone, and maybe for niche uses, but Blender (and other rendering software) is far superior for rendering than Roblox - which is nothing against Roblox, they’re two very different pieces of software with different goals.

Additionally, Blender is updated about as often as Roblox does, considering 2.83 (the version you’re using) was only released a couple weeks ago. :wink: