Will you get banned for using the same name as another game?

I’m a beginner scripter and I’m close to finishing my first game(I’ve already paid someone to make the thumbnail and the icon) . I just realized that it has the same name as a famous (Roblox) game, so I went on the Roblox ToS and I couldn’t find anything that directly said this wasn’t allowed. By the way, my game is a very generic simulator.

4 Likes

You probably wont it just might get deleted if you are copying any assets of the game.

3 Likes

No it is perfectly fine to use the same name as another game as long as you aren’t using any of their assets such as a logo or thumbnail without permission.

However I would advise you to come up with a unique game name as having the same name as a popular game will make it hard for your game to become better.

2 Likes

No, only stealing assets, thumbnails, and stuff of that nature can get you warned/banned

2 Likes

What do you mean by assets? (30chars)

There could be a chance of them issuing a DMCA if they have a trademark on the name (which I think happened to Skyblox, they had to change it to Islands). But I don’t think you would get banned though, the game would just get taken down until the name is changed.

4 Likes

They can’t claim a game name if it is generic, so as long as you don’t steal assets from them then you are in the clear.

2 Likes

Stolen models, or images, or stuff like that

1 Like