Winter Mountain Showcase

Hello! It’s been a while since I built something, so I decided to work with some terrain! I made a snowy mountain. I don’t do a lot of winter lighting so it’s not too great.

Updated Pictures

In my defense, I have never done winter lighting before.
I really think I have the terrain pretty good, but I’m not sure what to add next. I didn’t really want to have any else, it’s meant to just be a forest and a mountain. This build took me a little over an hour to complete. I’m not really sure what to add next. [The trees are free models]
All suggestions are welcome. Thank you for reading and have a great day! :grin:

Game link: Winter Mountain Showcase - Roblox

24 Likes

Oh boy… Second explanation today… :grimacing:

Lighting needs a lot of work here. A few tips:

1. The skybox doesn’t fit at all. Please find a new one, the current Skybox your using is generally used in cartoony games, not showcases.

2. Why use Fog? Atmosphere is much better.

3. The sun is way to bright. It’s giving me a heads he looking at it. Turn it down and make it less strong.

4. Use some DepthOfField. Use it sparingly, but I highly recommend using it.

5. Use some ColorCorrection. It can really improve the look.

Sorry for being harsh, this is a pet peeve of mine. I hope these tips can help your game look better! :grin:

3 Likes

Lighting is experimental, I forgot to change it :grimacing: I also am using everything you listed.

1 Like

I can see it was changed as it’s not using the default skybox, it’s alright that it doesn’t look good, it’s your first time!

FxllenCode is correct, but I’m loving the placement of the trees, the general organisation of the showcase, etcetera. But it is still amazing for a more rusty first try. Better than the things I’ve made, so I’d give it a 9/10! Remember to keep going, because I can see you’re work will be great. :+1:

Not my first time, more like 25th.

2 Likes