Workflow - new to Roblox Studio

Video: 2023-11-26 12-24-36

Hi guys! I’m a new Roblox developer trying to understand how I can have 3 different versions of a project, and having all of them share the same pool of assets between each other.

In my current project Jetpackers, I experienced an issue where I have uploaded sound assets to the main project (everything working fine so far) - but then when I want to do inhouse testing, I want to publish this version as it’s own inhouse-testing-version only accessible to my friends - so I open up the main project - hit Publish To Roblox As → Create new game… → and complete the steps necessary. The problem that I encountered doing this is that the audio files cannot be accessed from this inhouse-testing-version, because they belong to the “main project”.

I figured out that you can edit each individual asset inside of your Roblox (inventory?) and manually allow the new inhouse-testing-version to access all of the assets - but this process is very long and tedious - not something I’d like to go through each time I upload a new asset.

So how do developers navigate this? I want 1 pool of assets accessed by 3 versions of the same game: Main, Testing, Public. Do I need to create a Roblox Dev group? - and if so, how do I ensure that other devs/users cannot access any of the project files?

Thank you for any insights, hope you have a great day :slight_smile:

3 Likes

How I approached this for CrimeLogic is a bit technical, but with a bit of CLI knowledge you can figure it out.

I use lune to read from the Assets game and the Codebase (compiled by Rojo, but left that out in the example). Then it’s just a matter of replacing a set of services of the Assets game with the Codebase.

Simply put, you can do something like this:

-- build.luau
local remodel = require("./remodel")

local codeGame = remodel.readPlaceAsset(12079134889)
local assetsGame = remodel.readPlaceAsset(12857753286)

assetsGame.ServerScriptService:Destroy()