3D modeling software?

Hi, recently I’ve gotten in to making Low Poly builds and what not, and I was kind of hoping to get a 3D modeling software to import better meshes for low poly from. I know a lot of people get blender, and that was my first idea, but apparently my computer doesn’t have a good enough graphics card for it. Does anyone have any suggestions for other free 3D modeling software? Do all softwares require a certain graphics card?

6 Likes

From personal experience as a modeler I suggest:

• Maya

• 3DS Max

• Blender

Those are the best for you.

5 Likes

Ok thanks, I’ll try those and see if they work for me.
EDIT: Btw could you add the links so I get the right site?

1 Like
2 Likes

Your computer doesn’t need a good graphics card to run 3d modelling software. I have a Dell Latitude laptop with the specs below, and it’s way more than enough to run blender and 3ds max.

(uses intel integrated graphics, not a card!)

You will be fine modelling on almost any computer, but renders may be a bit slow

1 Like

If you are a currently attending student, I would highly recommend diving into the professional standard Autodesk Maya/3ds Max.

You can get access to Autodesk’s entire student library for FREE if you’re a currently attending student. Just note that your license will expire when you are no longer attending a school.

If you want a long term, free, easier to learn open source program that’s constantly working towards surpassing the current industry standard software, the ever popular Blender is for you. (Note: If you like tracking your hours like me, you can download it via Steam.)

Good luck on your future endeavors, I look forward to seeing what you produce!

1 Like

Ok, I tried to reinstall blender again, but this is what came up.
My computer is windows 7, could that be part of the issue? Or do I actually just need a better graphics card? This is the same problem that came up when I tried installing it the first time.