Ability to set a custom night skybox

As a Roblox developer, I want the ability to change the night time skybox in my places, in order to make night much more appealing by adding Northern Light effects, milky ways, etc. Right now, we can only change the amount of stars within the night sky and the skybox is always purely black, making it impossible to do any of these things.

If we were able to set custom night skyboxes, we could create much more impactful night-time scenes, add stars in the texture of our skyboxes if we wanted to have more than 5000 stars (limit of stars is 5000 on Skybox), add milky ways, Northern Lights, and even more!

The default Roblox night sky currently looks like this:

To me, this seems a bit bland. Some examples of possible night sky boxes include:

If Roblox is able to address this issue, it would improve my development experience because it would help to enhance the night sky in my games, make all Roblox games feel even more unique from one another, and make the nights in Roblox more appealing to look at.

112 Likes

I support this feature; it should be set through the Sky instance.

18 Likes

I want to add a custom night skybox to my game. Our games at VVG are time continuous and we take attention to detail very seriously. We even have a pocketwatch gear item in the game that showcases the Time Of Day at every point of the game.

However, I realized that I would have to hack together a system where to showcase the custom night skybox, I would have to regress the time of day to earlier in the day after the sunset, somehow fade the sunset into a darker night time, while regressing the time of day. It sounds like a mess. This would be much better suited for an official feature by Roblox.

18 Likes