Add a monthly limit to Robux purchasing

As a Roblox Developer, I have seen several articles posted on the internet saying that a kid spent $2000 on Roblox in one day on Robux. Other articles say that some kids spent like $250 on Roblox.
If you were a parent of such kid, what would you do when you find a kid spent ALL YOUR MONEY on your bank account on Roblox?
I have also seen several games give you like 5000 points a month that allowed to you spend for example $50 per month. Nothing more. One even gave you 5000 points and never refilled that – you could only purchase $50 worth of stuff in the game.
So I suggest a points system like this to be added to Roblox, with 3 tiers: (One point equals recharging one Robux.)

• 2500 points a month for users below 13 years of age
  • 10000 points a month for users above 13 years of age
  • 50000 points a month for users with verified phone numbers (Why? Well, phone numbers aren’t generally given to young kids that could spend $2000 in one sitting.)

Also, these values are the “max point values”. If an user has parental restrictions set up, the parents can lower the limit. For example 400 points if you want kids to spend $5 a month at max. Or 1000 points a month if you want to purchase the $10 Roblox Premium. The values that I specified are the higher limits of monthly points that can be allocated to one account. And no, unused points won’t carry over to the next months.

If Roblox is able to solve this issue, there would be a lot less issues of $2000 charges on your bank account made by a kid.

13 Likes

I’d say that would be Roblox falling under the pressure from media when the parents were the irresponsible ones and that’s terrible.

There are many ways parents can secure their funds and make their iPads/other electronics child-safe. They just don’t do it.