Advertising Guidelines Can’t Work And Need A Re-draft

As a Roblox developer, it is currently too hard to include advertised content in my experience.

Just want to make it clear that I am not a lawyer and this is coming from my understanding of the document, this is not legal-advice

As you may have heard in Simplifying Community Standards & Introducing Advertising Standards Roblox has announced an update to their “Advertising Standards”. However there are a few issues with these guidelines, such as the fact that every experience that has sponsored content, is technically breaking the guidelines!

Issue 1: Game Page

The game-page is a public page which allows us to describe our experience as-well as add thumbnails and we can even add a game-icon to our game, most brands request for the thumbnail, icon or description to be changed to mention the branded “update” while the brand’s event is occurring, however this would not be allowed! The game page is public and as a result cannot contain branded content as an under 13 user can view the page. This deeply affects games made specifically for brands.

Issue 2: Decals

Okay, so we can’t feature branded content on our game-page… Let’s just throw a decal in-game then, oh wait, that’s not allowed either! As of it’s current writing, any amount of showing an advertisement to a possibly under 13 player appears to be in-breach of the standard this would be fine however our decal’s library page has a viewable preview of the decal and could constitute a breach. We can-not restrict this viewing from <13 users and as a result we cannot upload the decal! Only audio is safe from this as audio is private.

Issue 3: Impossible “Blocking” Of Sponsored Content