Allow developers to save places as studio templates

As a developer, I often find myself creating places to serve as an in-game preview for commissions. For improved presentation, this involves applying a texture to the baseplate, adding a custom skybox, and tweaking the lighting. Although minute, the process of opening an old commission, and copy pasting the applicable assets is a nuisance.

As a quality of life improvement, I suggest giving developers the ability to publish places as templates. These places would be saved under the ‘New’ tab as ‘Saved Templates’ permitting developers to start fresh from their preferred template.

Preview

Currently developers must save templates to their computer locally (or utilize plugins? :thinking: ) to achieve this type functionality. Having a supported method in Studio would be a great addition.

I will admit, my use case is pretty insubstantial, however it could serve as a great tool and quality of life addition for builders and scripters who have a certain folder structure, lighting settings or building set that they prefer to use in all their projects.

103 Likes

I like this idea! I was literally about to make a plugin for this because I always have a default setup for new places. Would be awesome to have a built-in feature to allow custom templates.

Obviously, as you mentioned, you could just save your own files and use them as templates, but it would be cool to have the feature built-in too. Even if it just pointed to a directory with place files.

16 Likes

This is an awesome idea, and I’m surprised it hasn’t already been implemented.

I’m sure this would save developers loads of time, since they wouldn’t have to spend time messing around with lighting, or other things that would hinder them from actually starting their development.

It’d also be pretty cool if people could “upload” their own templates, and share it with other developers.

:+1: from me

10 Likes