Best way of implementing pathfinding/AI for my purposes and where can I learn about how to do it?

I’m relatively new to both developing games and posting on the Dev Forum and development for my first game has hit a brick wall. It’s one of those moments where you think something that is actually super complicated is actually relatively simple, and in hindsight, it probably shouldn’t have been the first game that I tried developing. Regardless, what’s decided is decided and I’d like to develop a habit of sticking through with a game to completion before moving on, which is why I’m making this topic.

I don’t want to reveal too much about the game’s details, but the problem I’m having is concerning the implementation of AI enemies and pathfinding. My planned game is basically a zombie survival game, where there are multiple different types of enemies that act and react completely different from one another. Here are the basic categories:

• The most common type, humanoid zombies of different sizes and speeds with different amounts of health that deal different amounts of damage. These enemies would behave like most zombies you’ve seen would and would chase the player and melee attack them. Ideally, they would use the pathfinding service to navigate their environment in order to make them more versatile and dangerous than the average zombie.
  • A stationary type that would shoot projectiles at the player. May make it so that some projectiles track, if possible, which may require the pathfinding service, I don’t know.
  • Another stationary type that would only react when players are in proximity to it. No part of it would move whatsoever. One of its reactions would be to spawn enemies of any category.