Can you use NFL teams in football games?

Hi there!

I’ve been working on football games for about 3-4 years now and have a successful one called Football Universe. I was wondering what Roblox’s policy is when it comes to using NFL logos and their uniforms in those games. I am in the process of remastering my football game, and want to know if it’s viable to include NFL teams in and still either get sponsored or recognized by Roblox (either for toys, events etc). Previously, I have tried to get some sort of recognition for sponsorships, mentions etc but to no avail.

Roblox recently had a partnership event with the NFL league, and they had hats with the NFL logos on them for a couple months, then had to wipe them all off the website (From what I’m assuming the deal expiring and the NFL being picky over usage rights).

My other question is if they’re not allowed, why have games such as mine and others like Football Fusion/Legendary Football not already been taken down or striked? If anyone with knowledge of this matter, or any staffer from Roblox could help me clear this up, that would be fantastic!

Thank you!

2 Likes

The logos of the various teams of the NFL are trademarks that are owned by the NFL. As such, the only way to use the trademark of another without liability is with their permission. This permission will normally come in the form of a license. So no, you cannot.

3 Likes

I don’t believe you can. I’m not saying you should but I’ve never seen a football game get moderated for using NFL teams.

I mean I could see a game getting copy right striked by the EA or the NFL on roblox.

Like if you make everything same as Madden all that theres a pretty high chance you could get copyright striked by EA

You could get away with it for sure there are a ton of basketball games and there’s already pre existing Football Games that use NBA and NFL teams