Clothing Design - Your (predominantly) Complete Guide to Designing!

Hiya, designers!

I’ve been designing virtual garments here on Roblox since roughly Jan-2017. I constantly think back to the things I wish I’d known when I was starting out. So, why not share the knowledge which I have? Maybe it’ll answer some questions which newer designers have!

(Please understand that there are links to programs in this post, simply because it’s better than suggesting what to look for, in which case, someone could click on a bad link. I have thoroughly tested each link, and they’re all 100% safe. Feel free to double check if you still feel uneasy about them.)

(I’ve put a lot of time into this, so I really hope it helps! :D)

Before I begin, I’d like to list the things which I use whilst designing:

• paint. net (This will occasionally be referred to as Paint, so don’t be confused by the pre-owned ‘Paint’ found on the majority of Windows computers)
    ^ Sadly, this isn’t available for Mac (not sure about Linux either)
  • GIMP (occasionally for detailed shading)
  • Advanced clothing template (scroll to ‘Resources’ tab!)

Now, let’s begin!

(Update 28/11/2020: Added another tip! Located in Spice Up Your Outfits!

#1 Shading can be easy!

When I was a beginner, I was really discouraged by shading. I thought that it would be extremely difficult, tedious, etc. This is not the case!

As a beginner, you shouldn’t worry too much about making hyperrealistic clothing items, rather, use a simple method like this (simple skirt used for reference):

1. Make a base:
  • You should do this on the advanced template. There are plenty of tutorials which tell you how to use it!
  1. Make some shading lines (use a slightly darker, richer colour):
  • Don’t make the lines huge, and make sure that the lines are quite even.
  • Do this on a new layer!
  1. Blur them with a gaussian blur!
  • (If you notice ‘green puzzle pieces’, those are extensions that I’ve added to paint. :smiley: