Copyrights about Star Wars

Hello,
I’ve been developing for a while a game based on the universe of “The Mandalorian” (a Star War serie) with my partner. The concept in term of gameplay is “original” and not taken from any other game, whether roblox or outside. Although we develop everything ourselves, we obviously do not own any Disney right and hence we have three related important questions:

• Could our game one day be shutdown by Disney / Roblox?
  • Would a simple disclaimer in the description do the trick?
  • Will we be allowed to DevEx?

On closer inspection, a large part of popular games are based on animes or real game concepts so we shouldn’t have issues but answers to these three questions will be of great help to see more clearly!
Thanks a lot.

5 Likes

Disclaimer: I’ll be using IP as reference to Intellectual Property. Also, I’m not a lawyer so please do not quote me.

Probably yes. According to the big vine, they’re quite protective of their IP.

Nope. If you don’t have physical proof of them agreeing for you to use their stuff, you’ll still be taken down.

For now yes but if you get slapped with a DMCA by Disney, you probably won’t be able to. Roblox double downs on protecting IP of other companies if there’s a threat of a potential lawsuit.

That is a huge misconception. Let’s say that you see people stealing danishes from a bakery. Is it ok for you to also do that just because others do it? IP is protected by International Copyright Laws and infringing on it may give you just as much problems as stealing danishes from a bakery. If you need more proof, just look at the trouble a YouTuber Suzy Lu’s going through with her channel’s facing because of Japanese anime companies are rightfully DMCA’ing her. If you want an example closer to home, look at Pokemon Brick Bronze.

4 Likes