Damage Not Occurring on Click

P.S. I’m a beginner scripter, so I am unexperienced

I’m currently working on a melee weapon. It has Debounce and Damage.
I’ve made the tool and script, but instead of damaging the humanoid when the tool is clicked, they take damage just by touching the tool. It’s like base damage instead of click/slash damage. Thank you for any help!

This is the script, it’s in the tool model.

local debounce = false

local function onTouched(hit)
	if debounce == false then
		debounce = true
		hit.Parent.Humanoid:TakeDamage(24) 
		wait(3)
		debounce = false
	end
end

script.Parent.Touched:Connect(onTouched)

This is surprisingly annoying to solve so I will explain it in steps as you get it working. You need another check to see if the sword is swinging. You turn this on and off when the sword starts and stops swinging. The player touched will then only take damage during this period.

So when the player clicks to swing to sword, turn this “damage enabled” value on for a second.

1 Like

How can i make the sword swing? Im not sure how to test the tool being activated

Would Tool.Activated:Connect(function() work?

1 Like

You can use the Tool.Activated event. Make sure RequiresHandle is set to false if you don’t have a Part named “Handle” in your Tool.

Yes that should work.

Search for “Linked Sword” in free models to find the old school “default sword”, it’s a decent example of how you can program a melee.

1 Like

Alright, ill check out the linked word when i get the chance to hop on my PC. Thank you for the help!

1 Like

NP, ask away if there’s something in there you’d like help with.

1 Like

here is no error in the code you provided. It looks like the debounce variable is being used as a debouncing mechanism to prevent the onTouched function from being called more than once every 3 seconds.