Deprecate Game Passes and Developer Products and Add "Product"

As a Roblox developer, it is currently too frustrating to work with Game Passes and Developer Products.

Currently, if Roblox developers want to sell products to their users, they need to create a Game Pass or a Developer Product.

With Roblox’s new goals for the Metaverse and Experiences, I feel like Game Passes and Developer Products are unclear and hurt the future of Experiences on Roblox. The problem I see is that both of these are very similar in functionality, with only slight differences. Those differences being that one is for a one-time purchase and the other can be purchased multiple times. There are other differences, but I think they are insignificant. The main difference is very minor and I think it would make more sense just to have one “Product” that has more configurable options to choose between one-time purchase or repurchasable.

As a Roblox developer, I would like to rely more on my Experience to prompt users to purchase a product. In my experience, I have a lot of control over the design, the implementation, the UX, and anything else that goes into the process of prompting a user to purchase a product. In an Experience, the user does not have to see or understand the difference between a Game Pass and a Developer Product, so I think that makes both of these just one single “Product” clarifies this a lot more.

Even the Roblox Developer Hub seems to interchangeably confuse these two. Developer Products are explained as something that is for in-game (in-Experience) purchases, but Game Passes can be purchased in an Experience too. There are so many cross-over points.

If Roblox were to fix this, my experience as Roblox developer would be improved because the “Product” which I would sell would be more clear and versatile.