Development Tips and Tricks - Building #1

Hi there,

I am xPro_Do. I have been building (among other things) on ROBLOX for the past 4-5 years. Over the time span I have taught myself and learned lots of things in regards to building. I have seen many new developers starting to build, and asking for some tips, or how I build like I do. So I thought I’d make a post going over some tips and tricks to help others with their building.

Without further adieu, here are some tips and tricks for anyone interested in learning how to build/settings.

• BUILDING TIPS:

First tip: Have “Collisions” off.

When collisions is enabled, it doesn’t let you drag things through, leading to potential gaps, hard time moving bricks, etc… To ensure this is off, make sure that the “Collisions” button is blank. You can find this under Model → Tools → Collisions

Second tip: Adjust your ‘Snap to Grid’ numbers when necessary

These numbers can be found just right of the Collisions button. The Rotate number is what determines how many degrees an object rotates, when using the Rotation tool. Likewise, the Move number is what determines how many studs the item(s) you have selected will move or scale.

Third tip: Experiment with coloring and materials

When it comes to building, the materials and color of your bricks is an important aspect of how your creation will look. When it comes to builds, you should experiment with what looks best. Materials and colors can make a big difference, like the example below. If you are going for a more cartoon-like build, then going with maybe only one or two materials can look pretty good as well.

With Materials (EXAMPLE)

Without Materials (EXAMPLE)

• BUILDING TRICKS:

There are many shortcuts you can use in Studio to speed up, or just make the job easier to do.

CTRL+C : Copies
CTRL+V : Pastes
CTRL+Z : Undo
CTRL+Y : Redo
CTRL+A : Selects all
CTRL+Shift+V : Pastes into selection
CTRL+G : Groups selection
CTRL+U : Ungroups selection