Early game development code

I am kind of stumped with my code right now. Not the functionality, more so how I am writing it.

I am currently in the very early stages of development for my game right now; I have only just started to finally put my ideas down in studio. I’ve been writing a lot of code (a lot for me at least lol), and it feels a little bit messy.

Since I am a new-ish developer, I have never gone through a proper development process. Hence, I do not know if I am doing this the correct way.

tl;dr
My question: Is it normal for early-development code to be slightly unorganized (not to a fault) and un-optimized? Is this early code something that gets reworked and rewritten as development progresses?

Thanks,
K_reex

P.S. Happy New Year :partying_face:

5 Likes

I’ve practically rewritten all of my upcoming game’s code since I first started working on it. I’d say it’s totally normal to modify or rewrite your scripts, especially if it’s just a rough draft.

2 Likes

Yeah it’s normal alright, I remember my old code used to be really messy.
However, just including comments to tell yourself what sections of the Script do what can make all the difference - trust me on this one.

5 Likes

Yeah, I am sort of writing my own documentation for the script–within the script :wink:. I think it’s going to really help in the long run if I need to fix bugs or anything like that.

1 Like

Often in game development it is more important to get something functional instead of being perfectly organised and styled. In the wider industry this is mainly because the game design tends to change during early development.

However, in Roblox this is less of a concern, so the main reason here I would say is speed. Often it’s really helpful to get your game up and running as soon as possible, so you can focus on other things (and eventually refactor everything to make it all organised once you know all the requirements).