ezTree (Mass Tree placer Plugin) Initial Release

Hi there. Because it’s the first day of October, I decided I’d finally release my ezTree mass placement plugin. It’s been worked on for the past month, and finished it sometime last week.

Note: OK OK ILL FIX THE UI PLS DONT TELL ME ANYMORE

What does the plugin do?

The title says it all. It allows you to place large amounts of trees on massive stretches of terrain, and the trees look natural and not just lazily hand-placed

What does the plugin look like?

The UI looks like this (I am not a UI designer, please forgive my lousy UI)

And the plugin in the bar looks like this
Screen Shot 2020-10-01 at 1.07.11 PM

What do the results look like?

The results speak pretty well for themselves. As you can see in the images, the trees look very natural, with the custom rotation and how random the placement is.

How does it work?

I’ve provided a simple video in the plugin description that shows you how easy it is to get started. All you need to get started is a tree model and parts to place the tree under.

Simply select your tree model and press the top left button, select the part to place under and hit the button right of that.

After that, you can choose whether to parent the cloned trees to a folder or just to workspace, whether to allow trees to get close to each other and touch, how far down into the ground you want to offset your tree (just in case your model is larger than the trunk), a rough estimate of how many trees you want, the minimum slope angle for the trees to place on(The higher the number, the flatter the terrain allowed. 90 is max but 88 is recommended for flat flat), and how much rotation you want the trees to be applied with (do you want the tree to look as it does before placement, or more natural? I use 1, 180, 1 for the most natural results). Then you hit the Tree Me! button and the plugin does the rest.

Features

1. Auto-model feature in case you forget to convert your tree to a model