Head & Body Part shading looks sharper and worse than it used to

I’ve considered this to be a bug because it was an unexpected and unannounced change in behaviour with no migration period or alternatives to recreate the previous behaviour.

As a developer, I have noticed since the client updates of either December 4th 2019 or December 6th 2019, and ever since, that shading on parts and specifically players and their outfits have been visually sharpened without warning, on all lighting modes. This happens in both Roblox Player and Roblox Studio, consistently, without fail on graphics modes 3 and higher.

This is especially noticeable on Compatibility lighting, which is intended to simulate the former Legacy lighting mode. Attached below is a picture comparing the shading of the normals in 2019 Studio on graphics level 21 to 2020 Studio on the same graphics level.

When Compatibility was added as a lighting mode in 2019, it was intended to more or less emulate Legacy. Whilst there were bugs on release, the accuracy of it versus Legacy (other than in select cases), was extremely good, and a lot of time was put into ensuring existing games didn’t break, or look too different visually.

However, since the specified time period, the shading of the normals of body parts (Head, Torso, Right Arm, Left Arm, Right Leg, Left Leg, etc) has been changed without reason to be sharper and they no longer have the same visual effect they previously did, looking harsher and sharper.

image image

Similarly, Voxel and ShadowMap had their “shinier normals” aspect removed without warning at the same time. Voxel, ShadowMap and Future are all suffering from this particular rendering bug, and all 4 including Compatibility suffer from the sharp shading issue.