Help making a checkpoint system

I’m new to scripting and I’m trying to make a checkpoint system for my game. I would really appreciate some help in making this.

I also don’t know how to make the game save your checkpoint so when you rejoin you’ll be where you left off.

Thank you for reading! :smiley:

2 Likes

I’ll try working on one for you when I get the time.

2 Likes

I wrote about a basis as to how you coudl do something like this before in a similar post, but it was for doing without a leaderstat system.

Basically how I would recommend is you name each checkpoints the name of level it is, if it’s level 3, name it 3 for example, and put all of these in a folder just for checkpoints.

Inorder to save the level, you need datastores, which you could learn from here or via other tutorials to give a grasp as to how to save data

Have an IntValue be added to your player/leaderstats which either stores your current level retrieved from the datastore or the default, 0.

Make it so when you step on a checkpoint, it checks your current stage value to see if it’s one less than the stage number you’re touching, and if it is, update their stage value, if it isn’t, do nothing.

When the player dies and respawns, have them be teleported to their current stage, so progression isn’t halted by the player have ot walk back to their previous stage on death.

And finally, I would recommend making events for PlayerRemoving and BindToClose in the same script where you create the IntValue for each player, so if a player leaves or the server shuts down, their data will be saved next time they rejoin.

That should be a good starting point to help you with creating your checkpoint system, please tell me if anything is confusing in what I said

2 Likes

I whipped this up quickly.

So what you’ll want to do is add a folder to the workspace, name it "CheckpointsFolder", then
add the checkpoints into it and name them the checkpoint value so checkpoint 1’s naem would be "1".