Help needed with making a Turret face towards Mouse

Hello, Im kind of new to Cframe and I’ve been trying to make my turret face towards the mouse for the past few days.

I have made a code but it doesn’t work
Here is my current setup:

The code:

local player = game.Players.LocalPlayer

local mouse = player:GetMouse()

local TurretUnion = game.Workspace.Turret.TurretS

while wait() do

TurretUnion.CFrame = TurretUnion.CFrame * CFrame.Angles(math.asin((mouse.Hit.Position - mouse.Origin.Position).Unit.Y), 0, 0)

end

I tried to make a loop that detects the mouse position and faces the turret towards it, however something doesn’t work.

-Hope you can help

1 Like

To get something with angles pointing towards another object the equation is CFrame.new(origin, pointyouwanttolookat)

2 Likes

do this instead:

TurretUnion.CFrame = CFrame.new(TurretUnion.Position, mouse.Hit.Position)
3 Likes

Make the CFrame of the turret:

CFrame.new(Turret.Position, mouse.Hit.Position)

The first Vector3 is the position, the second Vector3 is the LookAtPosition;
I suggest doing this client-sided and server-sided (client-sided for the player who is doing it, server-sided for other players)

2 Likes

Also you would have to move the script into the player’s playerscripts for it to run, i would clone the script and remove the clone upon sitting down and sitting up since it seems you want to do that as you put it in the seat.

1 Like

It worked, Thanks
Just gotta fix some stuff, but it worked

1 Like

Quick question… I’ve been trying to make it rotate only in one axis
Is there a way to lock some axis orientation or making it just rotate in one direction?

-Hope you can help

Yes, try this, this would make the turrret rotate in one axis

turret.CFrame = CFrame.new(turret.Position, Vector3.new(mouse.Hit.Position.X,turret.Position.Y,mouse.Hit.Position.Z))

You can also try this

local unit = (mouse.Hit.Position-turret.Position).Unit
local cross = unit:Cross(Vector3.new(0,1,0))