How Artists Can Compliment a Build

Currently, the developer community reaches out to artists mainly for personal art (profile pictures, roblox character art), and game art (thumbnails, logos, etc). A bare few (of the majority) tackle texturing, and integrate art with builds, and I believe that the building community should recognize the power of art and artists with a perfect example.

Roblox recently released a new template to Studio called “Story game.”

Now, I found the build within the game utterly amazing, and naturally began to investigate the area, examining the models. I zoom up the railing, and am surprised to find this:

The railing isn’t physically real…its an image!

I see other such examples of art integration:

Come on these floor designs are pure epic.

I’ve spent a lot more time in this place than I’d like to admit, and I was hard in thought. As a builder myself, I’ve never realized the potential of artists – and I mean people who texture, create these designs, make a vector version of a railing – within my builds. The more I thought about it, the more I realized that art is also an awesome solution to many building dilemmas, that railing, if made in 3D, would have strained the user’s device due to the poly count, with art, it both gives the build greater possibilities for detail, as well as better, limitless control over aesthetic. And to prove that art really is a great part of this build, I’ll proceed to hide every decal, remove every texture id, and delete every pattern.

…And there we go:

Looks bare without the textures, eh?

Well, I do hope that a greater number of builds do incorporate more digital art, textures, etc, and that artists are recognized as builders as much a 3D modellor is. Art really makes a difference!

48 Likes

I don’t recommend using decals to build a map, Roblox decal quality compression makes images look bad

34 Likes

Just because art is used in games doesn’t mean they are builders…