How do I hide a Player's Humanoid's Name/Health

I’m pretty new to lua but I’m trying to disable/hide the Name and Health of any Player’s in a game - (this is because I have a custom GUI that will replace them)

Is there any way I can do this? If so, how?

16 Likes

The Humanoid has a property called DisplayDistanceType. If you set it to:
Enum.HumanoidDisplayDistanceType.None
Then health nor name is visible.

This can be done quite simply with a script located in serverscriptservice:

game.Players.PlayerAdded:connect(function(player)
    player.CharacterAdded:connect(function(character)
        character:WaitForChild("Humanoid").DisplayDistanceType = Enum.HumanoidDisplayDistanceType.None
    end)
end)

Please indent accordingly :slight_smile:

59 Likes

Thank you, and if you didn’t already know you can click this button to put your code in a code block:

3 Likes

You can also make code blocks by placing three grave marks (```) together at the start and then three more at the end.

code
2 Likes
game.Players.PlayerAdded:connect(function(player)
	player.CharacterAdded:connect(function(character)
		character:WaitForChild("Humanoid").NameDisplayDistance = 0
	end)
end)

Can someone tell me why this server script is not working when I test in-game?

3 Likes

Is there any code before it that is preventing it from continuing, such as a while do loop that never ends? Is the script this code is running in disabled? That code looks to me like it would work.

It’s on it’s own inside a server script.

Did you check if the script is disabled (I’ve disabled a script before and forgot to re-enable it, took me a while to figure out the issue)? If it isn’t disabled, where is it parented to?

The script is not disabled, it’s inside ServerScriptService - It’s fine, not needed, thanks anyway

I just tried the code and it worked perfectly fine for me… That’s interesting.

It should look like this:
@Thundermaker300

game:GetService("Players").PlayerAdded:Connect(function(Plr)