How do i reduce tris on mesh?

Hello im trying to reduce a tris on a mesh but i dunno how to reduce the tris, the tris is about 382,063

4 Likes

I guess you are using Blender. If so, this should help. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7NWlPxmHp4A

6 Likes

You could split the meshes. Read this for assistance .

Is it multiple meshes or a single mesh? The limit for a single mesh to be imported into Roblox is 10K triangles, so exactly how much you need to reduce depends on the amount of meshes as well.

I’m kind of new to Blender but I think if you add a modifier called Decimate and decrease the ratio you reduce triangles (I’m not completely sure if that will work)

3 Likes

Import it part by part if importing it is the issue or you can achieve this in c4d by using hypernurbs to reduce poly then you can smoothen it in blender. Also delete useless polys.

1 Like

There are some ways to reduce your tri-count, one of them is to separate the mesh into several parts and import them to the game explorer in roblox studio, this will keep your details the same.

The other way is to reduce the tri-count from the 3d software you’re using (blender, c4d, maya, etc…) but this would also reduce the amount of details in your object since 382k tris sounds like a giant object with lots of details, so I’d recommend using the first way (separating and importing).

1 Like

You really should have kept the tri count low to begin with while making the mesh.

You DID make the mesh yourself, now did you?

1 Like

sadly i cant make it several part due to it has too many part

Its a import from 3d warehouse

The asset you downloaded probably wasn’t meant for gaming. Look for another model with fewer triangles next time.

You can try to reduce the tris in a 3D modelling application like Blender manually, but I can’t imagine that reducing the tris from 382,063 to 10,000 wouldn’t result in a significant reduction in quality (and at the expense of a lot of your time).