How do I script a tank seat that can rotate a gun and aim up and down?

I already have a system in place for firing missiles from a seat, but I don’t know how I would rotate or aim this turret. I am not very good at scripting so please explain in detail.

2 Likes

You may want to utilise TweenService for this. Tween the turrets CFrame as needed.

This article may help you:

As I said, I’m very inexperienced. How would I connect tween rotations to a keybind?

1 Like

Use something like the UserInputService or ContextActionService to listen to “keybinds”. You can also just use ThrottleFloat and SteerFloat in VehicleSeat properties. If you want it to aim with the mouse then you can use other things as well, but preferably the first 2 unless you want to aim in ThirdPerson mode.

You can use multiple things to rotate it like Constraints (hinges in this case), or just manually manipulate the CFrame by doing something like Y = Y + SteerFloat and then make a new CFrame using that angle.

1 Like

Wouldn’t the model break when they remove hinges tho?

1 Like

“Remove hinges”? What does this mean…? The hinges will be Motor or Servo constraints, attaching the tank, turret, and turret’s gun together in a way where they can rotate.

1 Like

Roblox is discontinuing hinges

1 Like

What? Use HingeConstraints? Did you click the link?

1 Like

Anyways, I’m still confused about this cframe stuff. How does it work?

1 Like

HingeConstraints are the simple solution. If you use CFrame directly, it will not replicate automatically (if done on the client) and what I meant was to use turretAttachCF * Angles(0,Y,0) and barrelAttachCF * Angles(X,0,0) or something

1 Like

I’m sorry about this, I’m still very confused. Do I put a hingeconstraint inside of the part I want to rotate?

1 Like

It doesn’t matter. It’s the attachments that matter. Read the article linked

1 Like

So something like if w pressed tween (rotation)?

1 Like

No