How should new devs start?

As a new dev myself, I want to ask everyone how you started, which path you choose (you can tell if you feel comfortable). I am just starting, I don’t really know much but I am sure most of you do. I also think you guys have an advice for newcomers. If you can would you feel free to say it on the replies?

8 Likes

I just did what I though as cool in the moment. Now I am stuck with being able to make 100s of different things and my imagination as well as my will to make them my limit.

5 Likes

I am a newcomer and do you have any ideas? I feel like I can make my dream at one side and the other side is saying that I don’t know what I am making, I am trying but failing, I just think I am not on the right path

2 Likes

Start reading tutorials on stuff you find cool (#resources:community-tutorials is a cool resource) and play around with the program. Google is also your friend if you want to learn to 3D model.

3 Likes

Well, what types of development are you interested in? Building? Scripting? Modelling? I started with building, and I just tinkered around in studio until I got the hang of it. I also watched speed builds on YouTube. There was one YouTuber that helped me start off with development, who was ‘Model Creator’. I also took inspiration from showcases and other builds on Roblox. The best thing to figure first is your path. If you like programming, then that’s the way to go. Creativity, then probably building or modelling. Good luck!

2 Likes

Hello, well I started with scripts and my learning method was YouTube videos and examining different scripts, doing small projects and experimenting. You can see me getting into building but I have a team and I am not in charge of that category. :slight_smile:

They should start at first building, and then if they learned a lot of building, they should learn how to script (or just go to the Roblox Developer Hub)

1 Like