How to get from raycasting -> to a image file of a minimap

Before I asked a question on how to make a minimap. I saw @badcc do it for Jailbreak.

The raycasting scripting part of it and getting part/terrain color is sort of easy. I just don’t know how to turn it into an image file now. What kind of format or program or other fancy stuff do I have to do?

6 Likes

If it’s low-res (under 300p or so) you can reasonably create the image out of individual frames them photoshop the edges out.

What I do is have it export through HTTP locally and the end result is a file on my desktop.

1 Like

Http? Through a external service?

Yeah I’m not really good at node.js or stuff like that

1 Like

Me neither but I kept improving the renderer and exporting through frames in studio and eventually people helped me out when I asked for it. If people see you’re working hard on something they’ll be more likely to help themselves.

1 Like

Another way to do it?

If you are merely trying to get a data stream out of Roblox and into a file I reckon making it a Roblox plugin and writing the output to the .Source property of a Script is somewhat convenient, especially with the output adding all kinds of unwanted characters. Alternatively if you want to show the image on a GUI you could convert each pixel into a 2D grid of GUI ImageLabel objects and simply take a screenshot of it if the resulting GUI otherwise takes too long to load in-game.

1 Like

I want to generate a rather large minimap, but every script has a limited amount of characters.

From the top of my head I say 150k characters, however making more than one script should work. The better question would be what format you are storing it in, which is why I would recommend trying to render it in a GUI directly rather than having to store it as ascii anywhere.

Was just wondering how to put it into a PPM format, base64 and program a node.js program to parse and concat scripts, then decode and save as ppm file.