How to Make a Classic ForceField

Hey there! How are you doing?

I’m @JuanGamerPlayz_RBLX (but you can call me Juan). I am a game developer on Roblox and I am currently learning the programming language “Lua”. In this post, I will show you how to create a forcefield from the classic era of Roblox!

Table of Contents

What is a ForceField?

Before explaining how to create it step by step, you might be wondering, “What is a 'ForceField?
What on Earth is that?” you might say…

ForceField, in a nutshell, is a protection sphere where it always appears once joining any Roblox experience (i.e. games) or when your character is respawning. ForceField prevents the Humanoid from getting any damage and this class can be changed in terms of how long it will be visible:

From 2007 to 2011, during the early years of Roblox, the ForceField feature had a distinct appearance! It was characterized by wireframes that changed colors dynamically every second. Fast forward to 2024, in a significant Roblox event called “The Classic,” the old ForceField was faithfully recreated with its original design. This recreation is compatible with any rig, including R6 and R15:

I found it fascinating, but it’s difficult to find a current open-source script for it. Because of this, I’ve decided to create this tutorial to help you make and use it for your projects!

Step 1: Open Roblox Studio

The first thing we are going to do is to open the IDE (a.k.a. Integrated Development Environment) software called “Roblox Studio”, where any user can produce their project and be featured on the platform if successful.

You can download the software application by going to the Creator Hub, a website useful to manage and create any development experiences as well as 3D accessories.