How to Make Good Soundtracks and Use Music Effectively in Games

Introduction
Hi, I’m 6oi. I am a music composer who has worked on many soundtracks for games, including Omega Tower Defense Simulator (13.8 million plays). I’m a jazz musician who has played in both big bands and garage bands, self-taught in music theory and released 5 albums and multiple soundtracks for games. I have recently taken a break from making music for peoples games, but that does not mean I am going to shy away from helping others make the best games and the best music possible.

In this post, I will be covering color, layout, musical techniques, mixing, and adaption. All 5 are extremely important to being successful in making a good soundtrack. I’ve given advice to other composers and non-composers attempting to make good music for games. It’s hard to give an entire lesson in a random forum reply, so I feel it is probably better I make this it’s own thread. I have not seen this posted before, and I think it’ll be helpful; Not only to composers, but to developers looking for the perfect sound.

Color
Color, otherwise referred to as timbre, is extremely important for making video game music. It is probably the most important thing to understand in this musical field. Which sounds you use, how you use them and how high they are in the mix are extremely important. Some musical instruments do not work well together; Water is wet, we already know that. You don’t see a duet of somebody playing the bass guitar and the other an upright bass. Layering multiple instruments that will play in the same octave and will have similar/same timbre as each other is not a good idea.

Let’s say I’m making a boss theme, I first want to find a good melody. This is what I came up with: