How to make this i, v in pairs weld loop work?

As the title says, I have been trying to use a script to temporarily make some models welded to another part for some time. I am fairly new to coding, so I am not sure if what I am writing is correct or not. The idea is that each model has parts, which are all welded to one main part in the model. This main part is not welded, instead attached to a HingeConstraint. I want to weld each of these main parts to another part through a script, but for some reason, the script only welds one of these models each time I run the game. My code is here:

local heart = game.Workspace.HEART.SHIELD
local cage = game.Workspace.CAGE
local clockfacegear = game.Workspace.HEART:GetDescendants() 

if cage.CanCollide == true then
	local Weld = Instance.new("WeldConstraint")
	for i, v in pairs(clockfacegear) do
		if v:IsA("BasePart") then
			if v.Name == "Main" then
			Weld.Part0 = v
			Weld.Part1 = heart
			Weld.Parent = v

Apologies if this is not informative enough, I am honestly not totally sure what I am doing in general, so if this is too vague do tell (if you want). Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

you only create one weld constraint instance, which is set to a different part each time, meaning only one (thing) will get welded

try making a new weld constraint for each part (under the check for basepart)

2 Likes

Ahh gotcha, how would I do that by chance?

1 Like

He means putting the weld variable inside the loop. Therefore a weld created for each part. Try this:

if v.Name == "Main" then
            local Weld = Instance.new("WeldConstraint") --moved weld variable here
			Weld.Part0 = v
			Weld.Part1 = heart
			Weld.Parent = v
2 Likes

Hm, for some reason that does not seem to do the trick, although one of the models is being welded still so that is a plus!

2 Likes