How would I make a Group Ranks team changer?

Okay, so let me explain. I already have a team changer,
Here is the code:

function Click(mouse) 
	if script.Parent.Parent.Parent.Parent.Parent:IsInGroup(10616859) then 
script.Parent.Parent.Parent.Parent.Parent.TeamColor = BrickColor.new("Storm blue") 
end 
end 

script.Parent.MouseButton1Click:connect(Click) 

I am very new to scripting, I do know some basics and continue to learn. Just I’d like help from now!
Since I’m new please be more helpful then most of the time, thanks!

1 Like

Is there a reason why you overcomplicated it for yourself by doing script.Parent.Parent.Parent … instead of just game.Players.LocalPlayer?

On line two, or three?(Sorry little new to scripting)(I’m learning from a friend)

Both. It isn’t wrong but it isn’t a good idea to do script.Parent.Parent … incase you moved the script.

If you mean like when player joins he will be like “Blue Team” then this is a script for it…

game.Players.PlayerAdded:connect(function(newPlayer)
	local rank = newPlayer:GetRankInGroup(GroupID)
	local teamName = ""
	if rank == 0 then
		teamName = "Visitor"

end
	newPlayer.TeamColor = game.Teams[teamName].TeamColor
end)

Okay, I’ll change it. It does seem more simple now that I look at it.

Yes, but their clicking on a GUI. It’s a Team Change GUI that I’ve created.

Oh then I will send script for that

Basically, image They would click on Team GUI, it opens all the available teams and I want to make it so one certain team cannot be joined unless their at a Certain Group Rank. I only made it so it’s only a certain group.

Thank you! I’ll try to review the script as best as possible to learn more lua.

The best way to do this would be to use a LocalScript, and reference the Player using game.Players.LocalPlayer :slightly_smiling_face:

You can probably change the Team’s Color by sending a RemoteEvent, from the client to the server to receive it’s changes

--LocalScript
local Player = game.Players.LocalPlayer