Hyper realistic Lighting Settings?

Hello, I am a beginner when it comes to Lighting. I was wondering how can someone adjust the Lighting to hyper realistic? What are the settings? What do you add? What colors do you use? It will be much appreciated if you could provide me with such information since it can be very helpful. Thank you everyone.

7 Likes

This is pretty easy to do and you can ask to experts lik @FxllenCode or try it by yourself messing with the settings. Here are some helpful posts:

All of them related to lighting. Hope it helps!

13 Likes

Thank you very much for your message buddy. Let’s see what others have to say about this topic.

2 Likes

Here’s my summary of what I usually do.

Lighting

General lighting settings I use.

Now, these settings depend on what you want for your game. You have to decide what undertones you want based on the time of day and the weather. This goes for Ambient, ColorShift_Bottom, and OutdoorAmbient.

Ambient affects the overall color and brightness of the shadows in your game. You can make this darker or brighter depending on dark you want poorly-lit areas. You can also change the color of this if you want shadows to be cool or warm toned, I usually use a cool-toned gray.

ColorShift_Bottom affects the color of the sunlight/moonlight throughout your game. Most people don’t mess with this if their game changes time, unless you make a script to change the color through the day. If it’s daytime, I make it a pale yellow. If it’s nighttime, I make it a cool-toned white. This setting’s counterpart, ColorShift_Top, does nothing as far as I’m aware. I don’t mess with it.

OutdoorAmbient mostly affects the shadows found outside. It works similarly to how Ambient works.

Now for the other settings in this section.

For Brightness, I usually go between 1-3 depending on the time and weather in-game. I lean towards using 2.3 for bright midday.