Introducing Hooksmith!

Ahoy!

My name is Hooksmith, and I’ve recently joined Developer Relations to support the Developer Engagement Team!

Background

Programming and video games have been two of my strongest passions ever since I was a wee little lad. I’ve been playing games and tinkering, bootstrapping and keelhauling code for as long as I can remember.

While I’m new to the Roblox team, I’m a seasoned sailor when it comes to the technicalities of game development, with the Roblox engine being no exception. I have been avidly experimenting on this platform with several side-projects for the past decade or so, and it’s been truly inspiring to see how the platform has improved over all that time and all the cool games and experiences that you guys have published. This is why I’m incredibly excited to start working here to support you as you keep growing together with Roblox!

Also, I am quite fond of turtles. Wonderful little sea creatures they are.

What do you do?

I will be working directly with developers to help them expand their games into new waters, as part of our voyage to bring Roblox everywhere and to everyone in the world! Our goal is to maximize the reach of your games by providing you with the tools to make them available in as many countries as possible and to many different audiences.

To support this goal, I will be offering consulting for developers about technical challenges that they run into while they prepare their games for new markets, and act as a bridge between the Roblox teams and the developers about any needs that they have for one another to make this vision a reality.

Are you with the turtles?

Not quite, but I’m somewhat of a collector, you see. Just look at this fine shell here on my back. Belonged to the most wonderful specimen I snagged on the way here. Was entirely blue, from tip to toe!

I’m always looking to expand my collection. Let me know if you spot any colored turtles around these waters.