In an effort to improve the experience when updating your games we recently introduced a new option on the game details page called “Migrate to Latest Update”. This option will allow developers to quickly roll out an update for a place to all players while minimizing the disruption to the player experience.
Selecting the “Migrate to Latest Update” option ensures a smooth transition by marking all running instances of the current version for that place to be shut down (over 6 minutes) and launching instances of the new version in the background before players are kicked out of the game. This way the players can immediately re-join into the new running instances with the latest update.
We will continue to make the process of updating games easier and will keep you posted on new features we introduce.
Here are some sample screenshots of what the new option looks like.