Is it good to use repeat wait() loops for this? Is there a more efficient method?

Hi I’m kind of new to making scripts that are relative to waiting before loading data, or stats. This is some code I whipped up that runs a function when the player’s character is in the game.

game.Players.PlayerAdded:Connect(function(player)
	repeat wait() until player.Character or player == nil
	morph(player.userId,character)
	player.CharacterAppearanceLoaded:Connect(function(character)
	end)
end)

All I want to know is if there’s a better way to do this, and what the method is.

3 Likes

There is a much better way to do this. If you’re waiting for the character to load, you can do it in a more efficient variable.

local character - player.Character or player.CharacterAdded:Wait()

This will only yield if the player’s character doesn’t exist yet, and when the character loads, it will stop yielding.

It’s not a good idea to have the player becoming nil as the condition, because if they do become nil, then your script would error, because the player wouldn’t be found.

2 Likes

Player won’t become nil as a variable won’t garbage collect while it has references - You’d need to check player.Parent

Edit: Sorry replied to the wrong person

1 Like

If we are being picky here, it wouldn’t matter if you did or did not have Player == nil seeming as the Character is going to load before the Player is removed anyway as the CharacterAdded event was already fired on the Player joining unless its disabled - also if you checked Player.Parent it would be the game.Players which is basically irrelevant in this scenario.

I think we’re all forgetting the fact that we’re not fully sure how Roblox has adapted Garbage Collection and that scripts etc are pretty instantaneous relative to us and their will be an order within events that the server handles, i.e. the Character will likely be added if calls before the server handles removes the Player.

1 Like