Is python a good language for starters?

I know that this is the wrong subforum to post into but sorry.

So I wanted to know if python would be a good programming language for people who want to be future programmers.

I’m planning to start my first LEGIT programming, so if you guys have anything in mind other than python, please tell and link me the source on where to learn :slight_smile:

(my computer teacher taught us c++ but It was kind of easy and confusing in a way because she wasn’t really good at teaching, I do better on self-taught)

1 Like

Python is no more “legit” of a language than Lua. It’s more popular though. If you already know Lua, I would recommend Java or C# as they are common and more different than Lua than Python is. If you have an interested in web development, I would recommend JavaScript or TypeScript instead.

2 Likes

What’s wrong with Lua? :laughing:

There is nothing wrong with Python, but–like Lua–it has less in common with other languages, so a bit less easy to transfer code examples to/from. And its indenting thing is kind of unique (and something of an annoyance to many people who did not start with Python). It also depends on what you want to make. When I started making desktop apps in college, there was only C (and C++ was just starting to take over). I used what worked for what I wanted to do, which was make apps to draw fractals and edit audio files. If I were at that point today, I’d probably go with C#. I do a bit of python, but usually for utility script type stuff with no UI, like if I need to do some kind of file conversion, or write a Blender utility.