Learning advanced code and increasing overall knowledge

Hello, I’d like to start this off by stating that this is my VERY FIRST post on this forum. With that being said, I’d like to ask a very broad question. I am currently a roblox developer with around 30 Million visits. Some would say that makes me an ‘advanced’ developer but I feel far from it. The problem is the game I released has multiple bugs, performance issues, etc. So to my main point, I want to learn how to further better my coding. I want to learn more advanced ways of doing things BUT I don’t know where to start. Before you say the basics, youtube videos, wiki, I’d like to say I already have tried both those. It just doesn’t seem like I know what to look for. Any feedback would be helpful. Thank you.

2 Likes

If you could help us out by providing us with a game link, that’d be spectacular!

In order to understand how advanced you claim you want to be, we need to understand what you are currently.

Game link: Rickey Rat - Roblox

Are you developing solo, or with partners/team?

(Mainly focusing on any other scripters, if any.)

I’m working solo. As of right now, I personally enjoy working solo.

Well in that case, firstly I want to congratulate you on almost 33M visits. What a milestone.

Compared to most people, you are pretty advanced at scripting currently. However, there are always things we can do to improve ourselves and our code.

The first thing I would recommend is learning metatables if you haven’t already. Using them is basically a brain exercise, and a fun one at that.

The second thing I would recommend is that you simplify and improve your code, this will take you on the road to becoming more “advanced”.

The final thing I would think for you to do to improve your skills is just practice. Look at Lua pil files, practice different scenarios, follow tutorials. This will drastically improve the way you think about your code.