Let's Make A Game

Hey there!

My name is Marcus, and I am a game developer on Roblox. I have contributed to numerous titles such as Horse Valley, Pick A Side, Egg Farm Simulator, Building Architectand 8 more.

Recently, I have dipped into the open-source space and it has been such a fun experience. I was scavenging around to look for open-sourced games for Roblox and there are quite a few :sweat_smile:.

List of open sourced games

The problem here is that most of these games are abandoned, outdated or for other reasons no longer maintained. They are great resources to learn from but that is not quite what I was looking for.

A lot of people seek to create something together, making experiences as a community. Hence why I have started this project which is essentially a blank canvas that anyone can contribute to at anytime no matter your identity.

My main motivation for this project is to see how far we as an open-ended community can accomplish together.

Guidelines for Contributing

Whether you want to code, build or design, it is important to understand and follow the established conventions.

Reporting Issues

If you ever encounter a bug in-game, the best way to let a coder know about it is with our GitHub Issue Tracker.

Requesting Features

Using the aforementioned Github issue tracker, you can attach a label named enhancement onto your issue to indicate that you are requesting a feature.

How to contribute with Code

Roblox-TS

As roblox-ts (henceforth “rbxts”) is typescript in the roblox environment, code must be written in typescript when possible in order to be more flexible when adding content to it. If you don’t know what rbxts is, I highly recommend you do some light research to grasp the basics.

Styling

Code should adhere to the practices that are documented on the official google style guide for TypeScript.

Linters

All code in rbxts requires to be analyzed by linter parsing tools such as ESlint and Prettier.

How to contribute with User Interface