Lighting on Roblox, tutorial on lighting options [simplified]

Request: Community Rescources
Hello, I am vibrantkoffing. I have been building on Roblox for about two years, and I took building seriously around early November of 2018. I am here to make a guide about:

• Lighting buttons/features and what they mean
  • How to use these buttons/features
  • More info and a full analysis
  • How to avoid errors with lighting

Table of Contents

1. Types of Roblox lighting

2. Buttons/features and more

3. Buttons/features and more (cont.)

4. Extra information regarding Roblox lighting

5. LightInfluence

Types of Roblox lighting

Roblox uses two main sources of lighting: 1) Lighting.Compatibility, 2) Lighting.Voxel

Lighting.Compatibility

Firstly, Lighting.Compatibility (formerly known as Lighting.Legacy) is a new form of Roblox lighting. Lighting.Legacy was the lighting you would see in nostalgic Roblox games, basic and default.

What is Lighting.Compatibility

What this quote is saying is that Lighting.Compatibility is very similar to the classic Lighting.Legacy.

Main points

Compatibility mode simulates our Legacy mode within new engine code (Voxel mode and further), with minimal changes in the engine code and 0 changes in shaders.

Basically compatibility should require no work on your side to fix bugs, while there might be slight differences.

We tried to to balance our code sanity and your comfort while developing this feature.
Some work may be required though, mostly on post processing side.

Compatibility lighting is supposed to simulate Legacy lighting with slight differences. This new change is progressing in “The Future is Bright” goal.

Lighting.Voxel

Lighting.Voxel was released before Lighting.Compatibility and after Lighting.Legacy. Voxel lighting is supposed to simulate new and modern form of lighting. In my opinion, Voxel lighting is very nice and simulates what I need perfectly.

What is Lighting.Voxel