Main Menu Play Button Help

I am trying to make a main menu for my game. How would I make the player spawn in when they click play?

3 Likes

:LoadCharacter() seems like the best answer to loading in the character when the user presses play

2 Likes

You would also want the GUI to disappear so add a localscript into play and write a script that makes the main menu disappear when the player clicks it

1 Like

You really wouldn’t want 20 different scripts in a gui controlling each gui element, not only would it be messy but it would also be somewhat hard to maintain

I have that already, but thanks

Okay that seems likw it would work how would I add that to my current script:

``local play = script.Parent
local main = script.Parent.Parent.Parent

play.MouseButton1Click:Connect(function()
main.Enabled = false
end)``

Since :LoadCharacter() is only available on server, you’d want to setup a secured RemoteEvent that loads the player’s character when it’s fired

I am kinda new at this programming stuff, i dont understand how those work…

Basically, a RemoteEvent has three main functions:
:FireServer() used to send data from the client to the server
:FireClient() used to send data from the server to a specific client
:FireAllClients() used to send data to all clients on the server

:FireServer() forces the first argument to be the player which called the function

If you don’t want a game with easily exploitable RemoteEvents then you’d want to add sanity checks on the server,

for example, a buy item event:
A client sends data to the server, notifiying it that the client wants to buy something, let’s say a shovel, the server checks if the user has enough money to buy the shovel,

if the requirement is met, the server gives the client the item they want to buy and tells the client that the purchase was successful.

And if the requirement isn’t met, the server notifies the client that they do not have enough money to buy the shovel.