CRAZY Arena (devlog)

Hello,

About a month ago (2023.02.25) I started working on my first Roblox project! I made a few 2D games using GameMaker before, but I’m very new to this platform and haven’t used Lua before.

Trap Arena* began with Deadly Lava tutorial and is turning out to be some kind of competitive arena platformer with focus on frantic running around, jumping and trap dodging. I now understand that it wasn’t the best genre choice for Roblox and currently is suffering from the “lack of something to do while you wait for other players”.

There’s no lobby and after death you can jump back into the game. Double jumps are available to everyone and I will try to add more movement mechanics in the future.

Shop is still being worked on, monetization is light and only cosmetic. I might add some items that players can use mid-game to mess up with others or get a small boosts (that everybody can get from pickups).

:arrow_right: TRY IT OUT HERE

*The name did change from Snouty Tiles, because I decided to move the game from profile to a development group.

Plans for the future

:stop_button: More single-player activities around the map
:ballot_box_with_check: Shop items unlockable with in-game achievements
:ballot_box_with_check: Usable mid-game items (sticky mine, healing potion)
:ballot_box_with_check: Smoother respawn system (special zone that holds player for x seconds)
:stop_button: Displaying server stats and global leaderboard
:ballot_box_with_check: Reworking some parts of the GUI (round over screen, especially)
:stop_button: Secrets :shushing_face:
:stop_button: More content in general (traps, game mechancis, modifiers)

Feedback is very welcome!

• What do you think about the gameplay?
  • Is there anything with game GUI that doesn’t feel right or is missing?
  • What kind of traps or mechanics would you suggest?
  • What kind of cosmetics or items would you like to see in the shop?
  • What would make you play this game longer?

Cheers!

15 Likes