My Experiments with Sponsored and User Ads

Hello there,

It seems like the only way for a new game to get some players is by running ads, so I will try doing that and I plan to post my results here. The goal is to get an attractive icon (CTR in Sponsored Ads), good store page (conversion rate in Sponsored Ads) and some ad creatives that would bring as many eyes on that store page as possible (CTR).

I will use 250 - 1000 Robux until I will find a sweet spot and improve metrics of my game (retention, play time, monetization, etc).

Latest completed Sponsored Ad

Store page had these images as thumbnails.

Yes, one of them is very obviously AI generated… And I decided to keep the screenshot of the game area in too. Since I’m new at this and my other ads performed much much worse, I was under impression that these results are great, but soon learned, that the goal is 1-2% CTR and more… And conversion should be much higher too.

I don’t have a new icon, so for next test I decided to remove the screenshot and re place the thumbnail with something… fancier. I will post results later, but I think I made a mistake by using an image (also AI generated) that does not have roblox-like character. I will have full results tomorrow, but so far conversions don’t look good.

I also tried this meme-ified User Ad (rotated for better thread readability)

I don’t think these results are good. I ran the same meme ad for the previous version of this game with simpler game name and that one had 0.17% CTR.

The game is Trap Arena which is very multiplayer-reliant competetive score chaser where players have to run around an arena full of… well… traps. More about the development and a place for feedback can be found in the dev log here.

In the future I also plan to make modifications to the game title itself and test them out too.

Hope you will find this thread useful!

Cheers!

26 Likes