Music Production with free loops, Is it a bad thing?

Hello, I’m a music producer and I like to make music for games and electric music and I’ve noticed in many Roblox games and many Music Producer’s portfolios that their songs contain Loops, whether from Garageband or another source.

Loops are free pre-recorded samples of music, commonly found in GarageBand and it means that basically, a person doesn’t make the song, instead, they use pre-recorded layers of music that is not their own but is freely accessible.

Now I was wondering as personally, I don’t use loops what people’s opinions are on this. Because many builders or commissioners for building don’t want free models as it is not there work and so the client would be unhappy with free models that anyone uses so I wonder if this applies for music.

Many great music producers here make music on their own but others don’t, and the use of loops can be conceived similar to that of free models and I was wondering on what people’s opinion is on this. As paying clients give people robux and/or money for work that may contain little to no originality, and I was wondering if this is considered okay among the community.

8 Likes

If the client likes the music in the end and you have the rights to the loops, so what?

2 Likes

Well it’s the fact that the client can make the exact same thing for free. Many music producers also feel that it’s unfair due to the fact that they get paid for something that is not their own work.

1 Like

Personally, I would not be happy paying a music artist if they were going to use loops they did not create themselves. If I’m paying for an original piece, it better be completely original. Obviously there are limits to this, it is fair to use samples for instruments, but I draw the line at loops. It is not reasonable to assume somebody will be happy with you creating something they’re paying for completely out of pieces you did not create yourself.