Need opinions on my first attempt at a Dialogue system [Documentation]

Hello DevForum,

I’m happy to share a few of the first documentations about a dialogue system that I will use in one of my projects. It is my first attempt at making something related to dialogues, so feedback is much appreciated at this time around. If it’s anything about timing, sounds or visuals, please suggest ideas or offer constructive criticism. The reason I’m making this post is for the reason that I want to know what to improve and if I am heading towards the right direction with my ideas.

!!! Videos of the dialogue system in action are at the end of the post. !!!

So – keeping that in mind, let’s start.

How did I create the dialogue system?

I went into this idea with a few thoughts in my head. I wanted it to include:

1. Typewriting styled appearance
  2. Adaptive sounds
  3. Character and personality dependent on who is talking
  4. Click-To-Skip feature
  5. Dialogue bubble with smooth animations and colors

Yes, it is quite a lot to pick out for being my first attempt at making dialogue in a game, but what’s the fun without a little bit of a challenge.
Knowing that I was going to use the actual system in my project, I wanted it to be easily accessible and modified for adding more future dialogue. Hence I started everything with a LocalScript and a ModuleScript. In the LocalScript I will handle the actual message receiving and displaying, and the module will handle everything related to the coding of the message itself, such as: to filter, format, and get the type-writer effect. Yes, this is capable to perform in the LocalScript, but this saves space and offers a better visibility of my scripts.

Point 1. Typewriting styled appearance